Phlebotomy Classes and Training Programs in St. Paul, MN
Compare local college and private programs by length, cost, schedule and clinicals
By Marcella Sanchez, CPTReviewed by Editorial TeamUpdated November 4, 202615 min read
Most important takeaways…
Minnesota doesn't license phlebotomists, but employers expect NHA, ASCP or AMT certification.
Formats range from one-week accelerated courses to semester-length college certificates.
Extra costs beyond tuition can run about $930, by national estimates.
Phlebotomy training around the Twin Cities splits into two practical routes: a college credit certificate that runs a semester or more, and a private accelerated course that can finish in a week or two. Both prepare you for a national certification exam, and neither is required by Minnesota law. The difference shows up in cost structure, aid eligibility, and how many supervised draws you log before testing.
Commute time counts too. From St. Paul, clinical placements can sit at hospitals or blood centers across the metro, so a short course isn't automatically faster if the draws are far from home.
Phlebotomy Programs in St. Paul at a Glance
This table shows length, cost and schedule exactly as each program publishes them, and "Not published" marks anything the school does not state. Credit certificates are priced per credit, so multiply the per-credit rate by the credits required for a tuition estimate. Listed tuition rarely includes the national certification exam fee, scrubs, a background check or immunization records, so confirm those costs with the school before you enroll.
Program
City
Type
Length / Hours
Published Cost
Schedule Options
Hennepin Technical College, Phlebotomy (CTS)
Brooklyn Park
Technical college, non-credit CTS course
58 hours of in-person instruction; 3 months of classroom and clinical practice, followed by an internship
Not published (WIOA tuition reimbursement may be available to qualifying participants)
Not published
North Hennepin Community College, Phlebotomy Technician Certificate
Brooklyn Park
Credit certificate
9 credits; 1 or 2 semesters
$297.49 per credit
Not published
College Certificates vs. Private Training Centers in the Twin Cities
Saint Paul College offers two different routes: a credit certificate and a shorter non-credit course. Twin Cities Medical Training is a private center with a one-week format. Hands-on hours, aid eligibility and placement can differ a lot from one center to the next, so confirm them before you pay. The credit certificate suits a student who needs financial aid or wants a documented clinical block, while a private or non-credit course suits someone who needs the fastest start.
Factor
Saint Paul College credit certificate
Saint Paul College non-credit course (NHA CPT)
Twin Cities Medical Training (private center)
Credit status
Credit certificate program
Non-credit; does not count toward a degree and cannot be transferred
Non-credit training course
Financial aid
Confirm eligibility with the college financial aid office
Not eligible for financial aid
Varies by center; ask before enrolling
Cost
$231.20 to $335.45 per credit on campus including fees ($254.82 online), plus about $680 for books, supplies, exam and liability insurance; parking and transportation extra
$1,600 total
$795 total: $195 non-refundable registration plus $600 tuition
Length
2 semesters
6 weeks
1 week
Schedule
Monday to Friday, typically daytime hours
Hybrid: on campus once a week, 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., plus about 3 hours of online work weekly
In person, Monday to Friday, 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
Hands-on practice
100 hours at a clinical affiliate, with at least 100 successful blood collections
Not stated in the published details; ask before enrolling
Not stated in the published result; ask before enrolling
Clinical placement
Completed at a clinical affiliate
Not stated in the published details
Not stated in the published result
National exam
ASCP PBT
NHA CPT; one attempt included in tuition
NHA CPT; exam included in registration
How Long Phlebotomy Training Takes and What It Costs in St. Paul
Phlebotomy training around St. Paul is short, and the format you pick matters more than the program name. Expect anything from a few weeks of accelerated classes to a semester-length college certificate. Each program below publishes its own hours, format, and price.
Phlebotomy Training Specialists, Oakdale
Oakdale is a suburb east of St. Paul, so it works as a commute option for east metro students. The Phlebotomy USA / Phlebotomy Training Specialists campus there lists a 48-hour course built from 12 four-hour modules. Half of that time is instructor-led (24 hours) and half is hands-on (24 hours). Students must attend at least 10 of the 12 modules to earn a completion certificate, and the final day includes an in-class practical blood-drawing exam.
The 2026 total is $1,095, made up of these pieces:
Tuition: $605
Registration fee: $200
Supplies: $165
Exam fee: $125
Day, evening and weekend formats are available. Exact 2026 dates and times for each section aren't listed here, so confirm the current calendar with the school. The school's catalog names the proctored exam as NHCO, while a secondary listing calls it the National CPT. The credential name depends on the source, so ask which exam you would sit and what it is called on your certificate. An older Minnesota course catalog shows lower pricing, but the 2026 Oakdale page is the current all-in figure.
The Minnesota State Listing at About $1,600
The research could not tie that listing to a standalone phlebotomy program. The closest match is M State's Medical Laboratory Technician program, a two-year hybrid with online lectures, campus labs, a 16-week clinical and ASCP exam prep. The available sources do not confirm a campus for it, a Twin Cities location, a $1,600 tuition figure, or a separate Minnesota State phlebotomy certificate with those details. Treat that price as unverified until a college confirms it.
How Format Changes Your Timeline
The 48 hours of content stays the same whatever the schedule. What changes is how those hours are spread out.
Day classes: These pack the modules into the fewest calendar days, so they finish fastest.
Evening classes: These fit around a job but stretch the course over more weeks.
Weekend classes: These suit full-time workers, though the total span depends on how many modules run each weekend.
Because you can miss only two modules, a schedule you can keep matters more than a short one. HAP Academy OIC is tuition-free for eligible students; for the other programs, budget for tuition, fees, supplies and the exam.
What Does Phlebotomy Training Really Cost Beyond Tuition?
No St. Paul-specific average is published, so this breakdown uses the low end of 2026 national estimates; at the high end the same items run about $930 before tuition, and a Hepatitis B series can add $200-$300 if you lack vaccine records. The NHA CPT and AMT RPT exams run about $125 and the NCCT NCPT $119, so your exam line depends on the credential you choose. Programs differ on what they fold into tuition, so ask each school whether its price already covers the exam fee, background check, scrubs or CPR card.
Clinical Hours and Where St. Paul Students Draw Blood
Examiners and employers look hardest at the clinical half of a program, so weigh it as carefully as you weigh tuition.
Why the draw log matters
Certifying bodies want supervised, hands-on experience: live venipunctures and capillary sticks performed on real patients and documented by the person who watched you do them. Hiring managers ask the same thing in interviews, usually as "how many sticks did you get, and on whom?" Practice arms and gel pads are groundwork, not the credential. Before you enroll, ask how many live draws the program guarantees, who supervises them, and whether you leave with a written record you can attach to an exam application.
HAP Academy OIC in St. Paul
HAP Academy OIC runs its Phlebotomy Technician certificate as an eight-week, in-person cohort at 240 Plato Blvd. E, with Saturday instruction from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Eligibility is specific: at least 18, a Minnesota resident, and household income at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines. A negative TB test is required for admission, and the application warns that a background check and physical exam are likely. Instruction covers venipuncture and capillary puncture, patient identification, specimen labeling and handling, infection control, OSHA safety, and documentation, and the cohort prepares for the NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician exam. HAP reported 43 CPT credentials from May 2025 through April 2026. The published application lists the course at $1,600, while workforce listings describe it as tuition-free for students who qualify for assistance. Its materials describe hands-on collection and lab preparation but do not separate clinical hours from Saturday instruction or name outside clinical sites, so ask how draws are arranged.
Family Healthcare Services: a longer clock-hour route
The Minnesota Office of Higher Education lists Family Healthcare Services at 501 Dale Street North, #205, with a Phlebotomy Technician Training program of 400 clock hours. That is a much longer commitment than the short certificates elsewhere in the Twin Cities, which typically run 4 to 16 weeks and 40 to 200 hours. The state listing confirms the program's length and address but not its tuition, schedule, clinical placement, or exam, so those are questions for the school.
Questions worth asking every program
Does the program run draws in an in-house lab or place students with partner clinics and hospitals? Get site names in writing.
Are clinical hours scheduled separately from classroom days, and what happens if you miss one?
What is the attendance policy, and is there a make-up route?
Which exam does the program prepare you for, and will it document your draws for that application?
Phlebotomist Salaries in the Minneapolis-St. Paul Metro
These figures are the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for phlebotomists in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI metro area, so treat them as a recent baseline rather than what employers are paying in 2026. If you are entering the field, the 25th percentile ($44,910) is a more realistic guide to a first paycheck in St. Paul than the median, which reflects workers with more experience. These numbers describe the occupation across the whole metro, not graduates of any particular training program.
Measure
Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI (2025)
What it tells you
Phlebotomists employed
1,140
Size of the local phlebotomy workforce
25th percentile annual wage
$44,910
Closest guide to entry-level pay
Median annual wage
$46,460
Midpoint of local phlebotomist pay
Mean annual wage
$48,190
Average, pulled up by higher earners
75th percentile annual wage
$50,020
Typical pay for experienced phlebotomists
Admission Requirements for St. Paul-Area Phlebotomy Programs
Most programs share the same basic checklist, but the details and deadlines vary by program and clinical site. Start the health and background items early, since several take multiple visits or state processing time.
Minimum age of 18
Hennepin Technical College requires students to be 18 or older. The Minnesota State phlebotomy class requires students to turn 18 on or before the first day. Confirm this at enrollment.
High school diploma or GED
Hennepin Technical College, the Minnesota State class and Project for Pride in Living all require a diploma or GED. Expect to show proof at enrollment.
Reading and math screening
Requirements differ by program. Hennepin Technical College asks for a qualifying reading assessment or a waiver. The Minnesota State class requires an Accuplacer reading score of 230 or higher, or an exemption. Project for Pride in Living and CareerForce Minnesota check basic math and reading. Complete this before you register.
Minnesota background study
Hennepin Technical College requires a Minnesota DHS background study plus a driver's license or state ID. The Minnesota State class requires a Minnesota Department of Health submission before class starts. A disqualification from direct patient contact that the Commissioner of Health has not set aside blocks clinical placement in a Minnesota-licensed facility. Some Minnesota programs also require a national criminal check, and students may pay for it.
Immunizations
Hennepin Technical College requires MMR, Hepatitis B, Varicella, Tdap, seasonal flu and COVID-19 (at least two shots). Your first Hepatitis B shot is due before registration and the final one by the start of clinicals. Project for Pride in Living requires Hepatitis B, MMR, Tdap and Varicella. The Minnesota State class requires MMR, Varicella, Tdap and Hepatitis B before class, and most clinical sites add flu and COVID-19. Some programs accept a titer showing immunity instead of a shot.
TB test
Hennepin Technical College requires a TB test within 90 days before registration, and it can take multiple visits over up to a week. The Minnesota State class requires TB documentation before class begins.
CPR/BLS certification
CPR/BLS is not a universal prerequisite in Minnesota program listings. At least one Minnesota college says it is not required but encourages BLS. Ask your program before you pay for a course.
Drug screen
Drug screens vary by program and clinical site in Minnesota. Ask whether your assigned clinical site requires one before your rotation starts.
Work authorization
Project for Pride in Living requires proof that you are authorized to work in the U.S. Have it ready when you apply.
Minnesota Phlebotomy Certification at a Glance
Every Phlebotomy Training Program Near St. Paul, MN
3 schools within 40 miles, grouped by city. Select a program to see its highlights, and use the Website link for the school's own program page.
Program data from the schools and the National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS).
St. Paul Phlebotomy Training FAQ
Short answers to the questions newcomers ask most about training, certification, and getting hired in the Twin Cities. Details on each program are in the sections above and the listing below.
How long does phlebotomy training take in St. Paul, MN?
Length varies by program. An accelerated certificate in St. Paul can take about 8 weeks, while Saint Paul College says most of its students finish in a few months. No single duration applies to every program, so compare total hours, schedule, and the clinical component before you enroll.
Do you need a license to be a phlebotomist in Minnesota?
No. Minnesota does not require a state phlebotomy license or a state licensing exam.1 Employers, however, commonly expect or require national certification, such as the NHA CPT, ASCP PBT, AMT RPT, or NCCT NCPT, so most graduates sit one of those exams after training.2
Can I work as a phlebotomist in the Twin Cities before I pass a national exam?
It depends on the employer. Some hire candidates who have finished training and provide additional on-the-job instruction. Many hospitals, laboratories, clinics, and physician practices require national certification before hiring. There is no Twin Cities-wide rule, so check the posting and ask about certification timelines.
Will my phlebotomy certification count if I take a job across the river in Wisconsin?
Generally, yes. National certifications such as the CPT, PBT, RPT, and NCPT are issued by national bodies, so they are not tied to one state. Wisconsin has no state phlebotomy license, so employers there judge your training and certification. Individual employers may still set their own hiring requirements.
Are there evening or weekend phlebotomy classes in the Twin Cities?
Schedules differ by program, and an accelerated certificate of about 8 weeks is one confirmed option in St. Paul. Saint Paul College describes a completion time of a few months. Ask each school directly whether evening or weekend sections are offered for your start date.