Most important takeawaysโฆ
- Maine does not license phlebotomists; national certification is voluntary but expected.
- Programs run 4 to 12 weeks and cost $780 to nearly $3,500.
- Maine phlebotomists earned a median of $45,640 in 2025.
Compare Maine program types, certification rules, clinical hours and local pay

Can you start drawing blood in Maine after a few weeks of training? Mostly, yes. Phlebotomy is a short certificate path, typically 4 to 12 weeks, and the published Maine programs here run from about six weeks to a year, with costs from $780 to nearly $3,500.
The catch is credentialing. Maine does not license phlebotomists, so no state board vouches for you. A national certification is what employers look for, and the programs, exam requirements, employers and pay figures that follow all turn on that fact.
With a median wage near $45,640, the field rewards fast entry more than long schooling, so the cheapest route to a recognized credential usually wins.
Maine phlebotomy training ranges from a six-week hospital-based school to a one-year community college certificate, with published costs from $780 to nearly $3,500. The table summarizes length, hours, tuition and exam preparation for each program; where a state listing gives only a program title, that title stands in for the provider name.
| Provider | Program Type | Length | Total / Clinical Hours | Tuition and Fees | Certification Exam Prepared For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NorDx Phlebotomy School (MaineHealth) | Hospital-based program | 6 weeks | About 240 hours (40 hours per week for 6 weeks) | No tuition; students are paid $17 per hour during training | N/A |
| Washington County Community College | Community college certificate | One-year certificate (25 credit hours) | 25 credit hours; clinical hours N/A | N/A | ASCP Phlebotomy Technician Certification Exam |
| Spruce Mountain Adult Education | Adult education program | 10 weeks; two 3.5-hour evening classes per week | About 70 hours (schedule-based) | $1,950 total in-state ($1,650 tuition) | National certification exam; body not specified |
| Phlebotomy Certification Program | Phlebotomy certification course | 140 clock hours | 100 clinical hours | $1,150 | ASCP Phlebotomy Technician certification |
| Phlebotomy Technician Program | Industry certification program | 7 weeks | N/A | $2,900 total ($2,650 tuition plus $250) | NHA Phlebotomy Certification Exam; one attempt included |
| Phlebotomy/EKG Technician Training Program | Phlebotomy and EKG technician program | 6 weeks | Minimum 100 clinical hours | $3,445 in-state tuition | National industry certification exam; body not specified |
| Phlebotomy Technician Training Program | Industry certification program | 11 weeks | N/A | $780 total in-state ($700 tuition) | N/A |
| Phlebotomy Training Program | Phlebotomy training program | 10 weeks | N/A | $1,350 total in-state, including textbooks, exams and supplies | NHA national certification exam |
In Maine, no state license is required to draw blood, so the real decision is which training format fits your schedule, budget and clinical access. Community college certificates, private training centers and hospital-based programs can all lead to a national exam, but they suit different students.
Career changers who need evening or weekend classes should look first at community college and adult education programs, which are often built around working adults. Budget-focused students should compare total cost, not tuition alone: uniforms, background checks, drug screens, CPR cards and exam fees add up. Private training centers may offer more frequent start dates, so ask what that flexibility costs. If you want to get inside a hospital before you apply for a job there, a hospital-based or blood center program can put you on a clinical floor and in front of hiring managers.
Ask how many weeks the program runs, whether classes meet during the day or at night, and how soon a clinical slot is available. A community college program may follow a semester calendar, an adult education class may be closer to home, and a hospital program may show you its own hiring needs. Weigh those details against the total price.
Every program should answer two questions plainly: how clinical sites are assigned, and whether you will complete unaided venipunctures before you finish. National exams and employers expect supervised live draws, not just arm models. Ask for the clinical placement policy and draw requirements in writing before you pay anything.
According to 2026 state workforce figures, most standalone phlebotomy programs in Maine run 4 to 12 weeks. The verified listings fit that pattern:
Central Maine Community College is the outlier at 48 weeks. Whatever the schedule, plan for hands-on practice. The NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician exam requires 30 venipunctures and 10 capillary or finger sticks on live individuals before you can sit for it.
Statewide, totals typically fall between $700 and $3,000.2 Program totals in the Maine JobLink listings range from $780 to $2,900, but they are not like-for-like:
If your exam is not bundled, budget $134 for the NHA CPT or $155 for the ASCP PBT, based on 2026 fees.2
Few Maine listings itemize immunizations, background checks or drug screens. Bucksport, for example, requires a background check and immunization records only for its optional externship. Before you enroll, ask each school in writing what its price excludes, including vaccine titers, screening fees, scrubs and travel to clinical sites.
Maine does not license phlebotomists at the state level. There is no state registration and no requirement to hold a national certification before you draw blood. If you complete a training program and an employer hires you, you can legally work.
Maine is the norm here, not the exception. Only four states regulate phlebotomy directly: California, Louisiana, Nevada and Washington. Everywhere else, including Maine, the credential comes from a national certifying body rather than a state board.
The absence of a state rule does not mean certification is optional in practice. Maine hospitals, laboratories and health systems set their own hiring standards, and most of them want a national credential. Some Maine job and training records list certification outright as a requirement.
Four national certifications circulate in Maine hiring:
Standards vary by employer, so check the specific job listing before you commit to a certification. Hospitals and acute-care labs tend to be stricter, often naming ASCP PBT or a short list of accepted credentials. Outpatient clinics and draw sites are frequently more flexible. If you have a target employer in Maine, look at its current postings and choose the exam your training program prepares you for.
National certification is voluntary in Maine, but most employers expect it, and each certifying body sets its own clinical draw minimums. Those numbers matter when you compare programs, because the sticks you complete during training usually have to be documented before you can sit for an exam. The table below sums up the eligibility routes and draw requirements for the national exams Maine graduates most often take.
| Certification | Certifying Body | Eligibility Pathway | Required Venipunctures / Skin Punctures |
|---|---|---|---|
| NHA CPT (Certified Phlebotomy Technician) | National Healthcareer Association (NHA) | High school diploma or GED, or scheduled completion within 18 months, plus a phlebotomy technician training or education program completed within the last 5 years; or supervised work experience of 1 year within the last 3 years, or 2 years within the last 5 years | 30 venipunctures and 10 capillary or finger sticks on live individuals |
| ASCP PBT (approved or structured program route) | American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Certification (ASCP BOC) | High school graduation or equivalent plus a NAACLS-approved phlebotomy program completed within the last 5 years; or high school graduation or equivalent plus a formal structured program of 40 clock hours of classroom training and 100 clock hours of clinical training | Minimum 100 successful unaided venipunctures |
| ASCP PBT (experience or allied-health route) | American Society for Clinical Pathology Board of Certification (ASCP BOC) | High school graduation or equivalent plus 1 year of full-time acceptable clinical experience within the last 5 years, or qualifying allied-health education that includes phlebotomy training | Minimum 100 successful unaided blood collections including venipunctures and skin punctures; the experience route must include both, with no separate numeric minimum stated |
| AMT RPT (Registered Phlebotomy Technician) | American Medical Technologists (AMT) | Approved academic phlebotomy course completed or scheduled within the past 4 years, including at least 120 didactic clock hours unless state law requires otherwise, or accreditation by a recognized entity; alternatively 40 in-classroom didactic hours plus 160 hours (about 4 weeks full time) of acceptable guided work experience within the last 3 years | 50 venipunctures and 10 skin punctures on human sources |
MaineHealth's NorDx lab division runs the one employer-sponsored pathway the research confirms in Maine: a six-week NorDx Phlebotomy School, run with Southern Maine Community College, that pays trainees $17 an hour for 40 hours a week.1 Graduates are hired into NorDx roles and sign an agreement to stay at least 18 months. Beyond that, the picture is built from named employers and live listings.
The listings confirm Quest in Bangor, Presque Isle and Topsham only. They are not a full statewide list, and nothing here confirms Labcorp locations, MaineGeneral openings, or specific blood centers or clinics in Maine.
If you want donor collection or clinic work, ask any program which sites host its clinical placements before you enroll.
Free phlebotomy training in Maine is less a program than a funding outcome. The money usually comes from a workforce grant or a federal aid award, not from a school that charges nothing. Whether it lands depends on the program you choose and which office you call first.
WIOA funding is the route most often cited, and it comes with three conditions: the program must be state-approved and listed on Maine JobLink, the occupation must match local workforce priorities, and you must qualify as an applicant. Availability, caps and documentation vary by local workforce board, so filter JobLink listings for "WIOA Approved Program: Yes" and confirm your own case with a CareerCenter before enrolling.
Pell and other Title IV aid apply only when the school and the exact certificate meet federal eligibility rules. Washington County Community College's one-year certificate is listed with federal student aid available; other Maine listings report no financial aid, which shows that WIOA approval alone does not guarantee aid. File the FAFSA and ask the aid office whether that specific certificate carries an eligible aid code.
Budget for books and materials (Washington County estimates about $1,400), registration and application fees, the certification exam, vaccinations and immunization records, TB testing and drug screening, a CPR card, uniforms and clinical shoes, a background check, and travel to clinical sites, which adds up for a program like Piscataquis Valley's with 84 required clinical hours.
Before you commit, ask the program's financial aid or workforce office for a written total cost and a straight answer on which funding route fits you.
Maine does not license phlebotomists at the state level, so a national certification is voluntary, but it is what most Maine employers expect before you draw a patient's blood.
Maine phlebotomists earned a median annual wage of about $45,640 in 2025, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The table below shows the state's entry-level, median and experienced wage points alongside national figures for comparison. Treat these as approximate benchmarks from 2025 data rather than current-year pay, since wages shift and local employers set their own rates.
| Area | Employment | 25th Percentile | Median | 75th Percentile | Mean |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maine | 500 | $39,360 | $45,640 | $48,010 | $44,590 |
| United States | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A | N/A |
Phlebotomists in Maine earn a median of $45,640 a year, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. That is the midpoint of the state's pay range: half of Maine phlebotomists earn more than this figure and half earn less.
12 schools in the state offer this course through an education partner, with open enrollment and a national certification exam voucher. Request information to hear from the school directly.
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Certified Phlebotomy Technician course (vouchers and lab included)
Sponsored listings. These schools offer the course through an education partner and may compensate us when you request information. Compensation does not affect the rankings or the directory on this page.
Maine has no state licensing board for phlebotomists, so most of what you need to confirm before enrolling comes down to national certification and the program's own admission rules. The answers below cover the questions Maine applicants ask most often.