Phlebotomy Classes and Training Programs in Austin, TX

Compare Austin college certificates and private courses by length, cost, and clinicals

By Marcella Sanchez, CPTReviewed by Editorial TeamUpdated November 4, 202612 min read
Phlebotomy Classes in Austin, TX (2027)

Most important takeaways…

  • Austin Community College offers a one-semester certificate; private centers start faster.
  • Before paying a deposit, ask how many supervised live draws are included.
  • Texas requires no state license, but employers expect national certification.

A phlebotomy certificate runs 4 to 16 weeks and 40 to 200 instructional hours, followed by a certification exam such as the NHA CPT or ASCP PBT. In Austin, the real decision is a one-semester college certificate with a queue against a private center that starts students on rolling dates.

Commuting from Round Rock, Pflugerville, or San Marcos adds a second filter: class times and clinical sites that survive an existing job.

The shorter route gets you drawing sooner, but documented live venipunctures, not the calendar, decide how fast you're hired.

Austin Phlebotomy Programs at a Glance

If you are commuting to class around a job or family schedule, start with the Schedule and Clinical or Externship columns. Those two details shape your week more than anything else and are the quickest way to shortlist a program. Where a provider does not publish a detail, the cell says so; confirm it directly with the school before you enroll.

ProgramTypeLength / HoursScheduleClinical or ExternshipLocation
Austin Community College, PLAB 1323 PhlebotomyCollege certificate course8 weeks; 96 clock hoursNot published; on-campus exams are listedNot stated for this course; ACC's Phlebotomy Technician certificate lists classroom, laboratory, and clinical experiencesEastview Campus, 3401 Webberville Rd, Austin, TX 78702
Phlebotomy Training Specialists, AustinPrivate training center40 clock hours (20 hours instructor-led, 20 hours hands-on)Schedule options available; day, evening, or weekend format not published20 hours of hands-on training included; outside externship not stated8000 Centre Park, Suite 340, Austin, TX 78754

College Certificate vs. Private Training Center: Which Fits You?

The real choice in Austin is between a college certificate with a queue and a shorter private course with a faster start.

The College Route: One Semester, One Queue

Austin Community College's Phlebotomy Technician certificate is a one-semester, full-time program. It uses special admissions with 24 seats per semester, capped at 12 per campus section. Completed applicants are waitlisted by application date, first come, first served. ACC reports the program is full through Summer 2027, and applications are reaching the Fall 2027 waitlist. ACC emails each applicant an estimated enrollment semester based on where they sit in that queue; the current estimate for new applicants is Fall 2027.

Applying to ACC is not program admission. College-credit applicants must be enrolled at ACC, and ACC admission does not guarantee Health Sciences admission. Published basics include a high school diploma or GED, age 18 or older, English proficiency, a clean criminal record, and technical standards. Before the application is complete, students need required immunizations and a mandatory online information session. Clinical clearance, including background check, drug screen, TB testing and health insurance, comes only after provisional acceptance.

ACC's program is NAACLS-approved, and completers are eligible for the ASCP certification exam. Clinicals run weekdays, mainly daytime, and ACC says it cannot accommodate a student's work schedule. A 2026 listing specifies at least 25 hours per week.

The Private Route: Faster Start, Different Trade-Off

Given ACC's queue, a shorter private course is often the fastest realistic start. Private courses are shorter, but their start dates and clinical hours vary by provider. The trade-off is usually clinical depth or placement support: a condensed course may spend less time in a clinical site than ACC's full-time lecture, lab, and clinical sequence. Before you enroll, ask where students draw blood, how many supervised sticks they complete, and which national exam the course prepares them for. ACC's ASCP eligibility is documented; a private course's exam pathway should be confirmed in writing.

Choose the college route if you want the NAACLS-approved certificate and can wait. If you need to start soon, a shorter private course makes more sense, but verify its clinical hours and exam eligibility.

How Much Phlebotomy Training Costs in Austin

What does phlebotomy training in Austin actually cost once everything is added up? The advertised tuition is only part of the answer; how much more you pay depends on the school.

What Makes Up the Total

Expect these line items, though not every school itemizes them: tuition, a registration or application fee, books, scrubs and supplies, a background check and drug screen, and the national certification exam fee.

Austin Community College

ACC lists its Phlebotomy Technician certificate (3.5 months, 208 hours) at $900 tuition in 2026 School of Community Education pricing. A Fast Track price of $450 is also displayed. It reflects a 50% discount and includes books, while the standard $900 listing says books and fees are not included. ACC does not publish a 2026 in-district versus out-of-district split for this certificate, so I can't compare the two.

ACC also requires a criminal background check, drug screening, TB testing, a health data form, proof of health insurance, and a seasonal flu vaccine. The cited material does not say what each costs or who pays. The ASCP exam fee is not given either. So the documented figure is $900 (or $450 under Fast Track) plus costs that ACC has not priced, and a full all-in total can't be calculated. Enrollment is also full through Summer 2027, with new applicants going to the Fall 2027 waitlist.

Phlebotomy Training Specialists

This private center states an all-in total of $995, with no year given:

  • Registration: $100
  • Tuition: $585
  • Textbook, supplies and equipment: $185
  • National certification exam: $125

The source calls the price all-inclusive with no hidden fees. It does not say whether a background check or uniform is required, included, or waived, so ask.

Before You Pay

Compare the all-in totals, not the tuition lines. Ask each school whether the exam fee is included, and which screening and health costs you pay separately. Get the answers in writing.

Schedules, Class Length, and Where Students Draw Blood

A college certificate follows a fixed semester calendar; a private center starts students on rolling dates. The clinical component is where that difference shows up most.

How long training actually takes

Nationally, phlebotomy certificates run roughly 4 to 16 weeks, or about 40 to 200 instructional hours. Austin Community College's 2026 phlebotomy technician certificate sits in the middle of that range: its prerequisite course, PLAB-1323, is listed at 8 weeks and 96 hours covering lecture, lab, and clinical work, after which students move into the clinical course. If you are comparing private centers, ask for the same two numbers (calendar weeks and total contact hours) in writing, because the advertised "length" often refers only to classroom time and excludes the externship.

The clinical component

ACC trains venipuncture, capillary puncture, and blood culture collection. Students must demonstrate competency on an artificial arm before performing live draws, and must pass live venipuncture and capillary competencies before moving into the clinical course. Published ACC materials do not state a minimum number of supervised sticks, so treat any specific procedure count you hear secondhand with caution and confirm it with the department. Many national certifying bodies expect a documented count of successful draws, so it is a fair question to put to any program you are considering.

Where you draw, and who places you

ACC clinicals run Monday through Friday during daytime hours, with no weekend option, something to plan around if you are working. Sites are not named publicly, assignment depends on site availability and departmental approval, and placement is not advertised as guaranteed. Clinical dates can shift with site capacity.

Before clinicals begin you will need immunizations, TB testing, a drug screen, and a background check that satisfies both the facility and Texas requirements. Start those early; they are the most common reason a student's clinical start slips.

From First Class to First Draw: The Austin Phlebotomy Path

Most Austin students follow the same five steps, whether they choose a college certificate or a private training center. Use the cost and schedule sections above to pick a program, then use the salary figures and checklist below to plan the move from certification into a paying job.

Five steps to becoming a phlebotomist in Austin, from prerequisites through 4-16 weeks of training to employment

Austin Phlebotomist Salaries by the Numbers

These approximate figures come from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics survey for 2025, cover the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metro area, and describe phlebotomists as an occupation rather than graduates of any program listed on this page. Pay in 2026 may differ, and new phlebotomists in Austin should plan on starting closer to the 25th percentile (about $39,470 a year) than the median, with experience, certification, and shift differentials moving pay toward the upper range over time.

Measure (Phlebotomists, 2025)Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX
Total employment920
25th percentile annual wage$39,470
Median annual wage$45,570
Mean annual wage$45,650
75th percentile annual wage$49,510

A shorter class gets you working sooner, but the number of real blood draws you complete before graduation is what decides how confident you feel on your first day.

How to Choose and Enroll: A Short Checklist

Austin Community College's own pages set out its admission and onboarding steps. Use these as a baseline, and confirm each one with any private training center you're considering, since requirements and timing vary.

  1. Age and education
    ACC's 2026 Continuing Education listing asks for applicants 18 or older with a high school diploma or GED.
  2. English proficiency
    The same listing requires reading, writing and speaking proficiency in English.
  3. Technical standards
    You sign a form confirming hand-eye coordination, finger dexterity, visual acuity and steady judgment under stress.
  4. Immunizations
    Submit the immunization form and keep a copy. Ask which vaccines and titers apply this year.
  5. TB test
    Wait until the department tells you to complete it. Admission stays provisional until clinical requirements are met.
  6. Background check and drug screen
    Both come after provisional admission. ACC's listing also calls for a clean criminal record.
  7. CPR
    Not required to apply at ACC. Ask whether you'll need it before clinicals.
  8. Clinical placement
    Ask where students draw blood and how sites are assigned.
  9. Exam eligibility
    Confirm which national certification exam the program prepares you to sit.
  10. Total cost and refunds
    Get tuition, fees, supplies and the refund policy in writing.
  11. Location and openings
    Check your commute, and ask about waitlists. One ACC page shows applications waitlisted for Fall 2027.

Every Phlebotomy Training Program Near Austin, TX

2 schools within 40 miles, grouped by city. Select a program to see its highlights, and use the Website link for the school's own program page.

Austin, TX

Austin Community College District

  • Certificate/Diploma - Phlebotomy Technician
    • 1-Semester program
    • Fast-track healthcare career
    • Work in hospitals, clinics, labs
    • Stackable into nursing or medical lab technology
    • Special admissions with limited availability
    • Prepare for blood collection and transport
    • Career in nearly any healthcare environment
    On-Campus · Website

Saint Edward's University

  • Certificate/Diploma - Online Phlebotomy Technician Certification Training
    • Rolling admissions
    • Fully online option available
    • Starts rolling
    • Asynchronous online classes
    • range from $29,000 to more than $58,000 per year
    • NHA Certified Phlebotomy Technician Exam
    • Financial aid available
    • 12-month access, 200 hours
    Online · Website

Program data from the schools and the National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS).

Austin Phlebotomy Training FAQ

These answers cover the questions Austin applicants ask most about online formats, funding, and where to confirm current details. Program offerings and prices change, so use each answer as a starting point and verify with the school or agency directly.

Can you take phlebotomy classes online in Austin?
Partly, in at least one case. Pulse Medical Assistant School in Cedar Park advertises a 16-week hybrid Certified Clinical Medical Assistant program with live online lectures, in-person Saturdays, four lab days, and an 80-hour externship. Phlebotomy is part of that broader program, not a stand-alone course. Austin Community College's Phlebotomy Technician certificate is listed as in-person. Before you enroll, check each program's website for three things: whether lectures are online, whether labs are in person, and whether the school or you arrange the clinical placement.
Are there grants that pay for phlebotomy training in Austin?
Do not assume so. Workforce Solutions Capital Area has secured Texas Workforce Commission grants, but the ones we found focus on apprenticeships, and no phlebotomy grant is identified for 2026.1 Contact the office and ask specifically about phlebotomy training funds, who is eligible, and which providers are on its approved list.
Are there free or employer-paid phlebotomy classes in Austin?
We could not confirm any Austin hospital or employer that sponsors or reimburses phlebotomy training. Call the HR or workforce development office at the hospitals, clinics, and labs where you want to work and ask about sponsored training or tuition reimbursement. Get any offer in writing.
Where can I confirm costs, accreditation, and wage information?
For current tuition, fees, accreditation, and clinical requirements, go to the school's admissions page or the relevant professional association. ACC lists its certificate at $900, or $450 through Fast Track, with additional fees, but confirm before you budget. For phlebotomist career and wage context, see BLS.gov.

Recent Articles

See all articles