Phlebotomy Classes and Training Programs in Portland, OR
Compare college certificates and private courses by length, cost, and clinical hours
By Marcella Sanchez, CPTReviewed by Editorial TeamUpdated November 4, 202611 min read
Most important takeaways…
Training spans 40 hours privately to 190 hours at Portland Community College.
PCC's documented minimum cost is $3,199, including a $200 screening fee.
Portland-area phlebotomists earned a $51,680 median salary in 2025 federal data.
Portland's phlebotomy options split in two: Portland Community College runs a 190-hour, two-term certificate with a 100-hour hospital rotation, while private training centers compress the same credential path into roughly 40 hours. The shorter course gets you drawing sooner; the longer one builds in supervised clinical time some employers screen for.
Oregon does not license phlebotomists, so no state board filters who enters the field. What separates hires is the national credential and a documented record of live draws.
PCC lists $3,199 as its documented cost; private courses set their own, and evening or weekend schedules matter as much as price for anyone working while training.
Portland Phlebotomy Programs at a Glance
Total training time runs from 40 hours at a private training center to 190 hours in Portland Community College's two-term course, close to a fivefold spread, so the program you choose shapes how long you train as much as what you pay. Only PCC lists a price in the sources reviewed here, so confirm cost directly with the other schools before you compare. Clinical details also vary: Concorde states a minimum number of practice sticks, while the other listings don't describe their hands-on component.
Program
Type
Total Hours
Length
Published Cost
Schedule
Clinical Component
Portland Community College, Phlebotomy Technician training
Community college course
190 hours
Two terms
$2,999
Hybrid. In person Fridays 12:00 to 7:00 p.m. and Saturdays 8:00 a.m. to 4:20 p.m.; online meetings Thursdays 6:00 to 8:30 p.m. and selected Fridays 6:00 to 8:30 p.m.
Not specified in the 2026 schedule listing
Concorde Career College Portland, Phlebotomy Technician Diploma
Private career college diploma
128 hours (88 theory, 40 lab)
3 months
Not published
Daytime, on campus two days a week: Mondays and Wednesdays, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Lab practice with a minimum of 30 venipunctures and 10 capillary punctures; no separate externship hours stated
Spectrum Laser Training, Phlebotomy training program
Private training center
40 hours
About two weeks
Not published
Daytime, typically four days in week one and two days in week two
Not specified in the program listing
College Certificate vs. Private Training Center: Which Fits You?
The PCC route
Portland Community College runs a non-credit Phlebotomy Technician program that totals 190 hours across two terms. Term I is 90 hours of classroom and lab work. Term II is a 100-hour clinical rotation in a hospital, physician's office, outpatient facility, or other program-approved site, with at least 100 successful supervised draws. Tuition was listed at $2,999 for Winter 2026 with course fees of $0, though a separate $200 CastleBranch fee still applies, so confirm the current figure before you apply. Admission is first-come, first-served, and applications for Winter 2027 open November 9, 2026.
PCC does not name its clinical sites in the materials I reviewed, so ask the program where you would be placed.
What the longer program buys
The main advantage is documented experience. You leave with supervised clinical hours and a log of real draws, not only classroom practice. Those numbers line up with the ASCP structured-program route for the Phlebotomy Technician exam: at least 40 classroom hours, 100 clinical hours, and 100 successful unaided venipunctures within five years of applying.1 PCC says graduates are prepared for that exam. Verify your eligibility route with ASCP directly, since its program acceptance status isn't something I could confirm independently.
What a short course buys
Private courses of roughly 40 to 48 hours get you through quickly and usually cost less upfront. If a school lists evening or weekend sessions, those times suit people who work during the day. The tradeoff is that a course this short may not include a clinical rotation, so you may need to arrange supervised draws elsewhere before you qualify for some certification routes.
A hiring pattern, not a rule
Large hospital employers often favor candidates who hold certification and can show documented clinical draws. That is a pattern, not a requirement, and smaller labs and clinics may hire differently.
Rule of thumb
Choose the college program if: you want hospital work and can plan around a limited-entry application and a longer timeline.
Choose a short course if: you need to start sooner, have a tight budget, and can arrange your own clinical experience.
What Phlebotomy Classes Cost in Portland, Beyond Tuition
Portland Community College lists its Phlebotomy Technician program at $2,999, and the required $200 CastleBranch fee for the background check and drug screen pushes the documented minimum to $3,199.
What the tuition line leaves out
At PCC, the $2,999 figure does not spell out whether books, a CPR card, the ASCP exam fee or supplies are bundled in, so treat $3,199 as a floor rather than a final number. Concorde Portland covers the first AMCA exam attempt for graduates who meet its requirements and choose that exam, and a second attempt is on you. Spectrum Laser Training does not publish a fee for its 40-hour course, so ask for it in writing.
Costs that sit outside tuition, whichever program you pick:
Registration or application fee: charged before you start class.
National exam fee: varies by the credential you sit.
CPR/BLS card: often required before the clinical placement.
Immunizations and titers: clinical sites usually want proof of immunity.
Uniform and books: scrubs and a workbook typically come out of pocket.
Paying for it
PCC's non-credit phlebotomy is not eligible for federal financial aid. The college lists scholarships, grants, veterans' benefits and payment plans in general terms, but does not say which apply to this program. Concorde Portland is also outside federal aid and VA programs and points qualifying students toward private loans. Spectrum advertises interest-free payment options and Ascent Funding. WIOA and other workforce funding may help, but approval depends on your local workforce agency, the provider's standing on an approved training list, your eligibility and available funds. None of these providers documents WIOA approval.
Budget a cushion
Plan on a few hundred dollars above the tuition line for exam, CPR, immunization and uniform costs, and get the inclusions in writing before you enroll.
Admission Checklist for Portland Phlebotomy Programs
Portland Community College's Phlebotomy Technician program is limited-entry and first-come, first-served, and it does not accept late or incomplete applications. Have every item below ready before the window opens. Private courses set their own entry rules, so confirm each one directly with the school.
Apply when the window opens
PCC's Winter 2027 application period opens November 9, 2026, and Summer 2026 is closed. A closing date has not been posted, so apply early. Private schools set their own enrollment dates.
Proof of education
PCC requires a high school diploma, GED or college degree. Ask any private course whether it has the same requirement.
Immunization records or titers
For 2026, PCC requires Hepatitis B, MMR, varicella, Tdap within 10 years, a current-year TB test and a 2026–2027 flu shot, all uploaded through CastleBranch. COVID-19 documentation is optional. These requirements matter most for programs with hospital clinical rotations.
AHA Basic Life Support CPR card
PCC accepts only American Heart Association BLS cards, not American Red Cross cards. Check this before you book a class.
Drug screen
Ordered through CastleBranch, but not before the term's opening date (November 9, 2026, for Winter 2027). This is typical of programs that place students in clinical sites.
Background check
Follows the same CastleBranch timing as the drug screen. Expect it wherever students draw on real patients.
Time for clinicals
PCC's 190-hour certificate runs over two terms and includes 100 supervised clinical hours and at least 100 successful supervised draws.
Course length matters less than what you leave with: a documented record of supervised live draws and a national credential, which Oregon employers expect even though the state does not license phlebotomists.
phlebotomytraining.org
What Do Phlebotomists Earn in the Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro Metro?
Federal wage data from 2025 puts the median phlebotomist salary in the Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro metro at $51,680 a year, with an average of $53,330 across roughly 950 phlebotomy jobs in the area. The middle half of local phlebotomists earn between $47,230 (25th percentile) and $60,930 (75th percentile). New graduates usually start near the lower end of that range and move up as they gain experience on the job. These are recent figures, not 2026 pay, so confirm current starting rates with employers when you interview.
Questions to Ask Yourself
Do you need to be drawing blood for pay within two months, or can you wait for a two-term college program?
Accelerated private courses get you to the exam faster, while college certificates stretch over two terms but often include a hospital rotation. Deciding your timeline first narrows the list fast.
Can you attend weekday daytime clinicals, or do you need an evening or weekend course?
Classroom hours are flexible at many schools, but the clinical shifts are usually set by the lab or hospital hosting you. Ask about clinical scheduling before you pay a deposit.
Will you work in Oregon only, or might you cross the river to Washington?
Oregon does not license phlebotomists, but Washington requires a state credential. If you might take a job in Vancouver, check that your program's hours and exam meet Washington's rules too.
Does the program's hands-on draw count meet the exam rules your target employer wants?
Exam boards and hospital labs set minimum supervised draws and classroom hours. Confirm the program's numbers in writing so you are not shut out of the certification your employer expects.
Every Phlebotomy Training Program Near Portland, OR
4 schools within 40 miles, grouped by city. Select a program to see its highlights, and use the Website link for the school's own program page.
Program data from the schools and the National Center for Education Statistics (IPEDS).
Portland Phlebotomy Classes: Common Questions
These answers cover the questions Portland students ask most about format, length, working across the river in Washington, and exam timing. Program details change, so confirm specifics with each school before you pay a deposit.
Can you take phlebotomy classes online in Portland?
Only in part. Theory lessons can sometimes be delivered online or in a hybrid format, but venipuncture and capillary skills must be practiced in person on live people. We could not confirm a specific Portland-area program offering hybrid coursework, so ask each school how lectures, lab practice, and clinical draws are divided before you enroll.
How long are phlebotomy classes in Portland?
Length depends on the school type. Phlebotomy training nationally typically runs about 4 to 16 weeks, or 40 to 200 hours, with college certificates generally longer than short private courses. See the program table on this page for each school's stated length, then confirm current hours and start dates directly, since schedules change.
Can I work as a phlebotomist in Vancouver, WA after training in Portland?
You need a Washington Department of Health credential called Medical Assistant-Phlebotomist. Eligibility comes through an accredited phlebotomy program, a current national certification (ACA, AMCA, AMT, ASCP, NCCT, or NHA), or training approved by a supervising practitioner.1 Ask your Portland school whether its clinical component meets Washington's supervised-practice rules. Applicants may work up to 180 days after filing, under training-level supervision.2
How soon after finishing a course can I sit for the national exam?
The NHA sources we reviewed list no mandatory waiting period after a course. What matters is eligibility: a high school diploma or GED, training completed within the last 5 years, and documented live draws, at least 30 venipunctures and 10 capillary sticks.3 Ask your school whether it hosts testing on site or helps you schedule the exam.